Wood Buffalo Community Foundation elects new chair and appoints three new directors at Annual General Meeting

(Fort McMurray, AB – July 5, 2019) Wood Buffalo Community Foundation (WBCF) appointed a new chair and welcomed three new directors to its Board at its Annual General Meeting on Thursday, June 20 at the Redpoll Centre in Fort McMurray. Anthony (Tony) Mankowski was elected chair, and Tony Aruleba, Nayef Mahgoub and Shoaib Syed were elected as new directors to the Board.

“I would like to thank our outgoing chair, Shelley Powell for her leadership and energy, taking this Foundation to where it is today,” said Tony. “I’m also very happy to welcome our three new directors and I look forward to working with them.”

The board also accepted the Foundation’s 2018 annual review, featuring Founders Circle members and reports from grantees. The report can be found on the website at wbcfoundation.ca/annual-report.

As part of regular business, the Board re-appointed Deloitte LLP as auditors and confirmed the following directors and terms: Anthony Mankowski (June 2020); Brenda Erskine (June 2020); Mark Shaw (September 2019); Glen Finnson (June 2020); Thomas Lawley (September 2019); Anna Seinen (June 2020); Sangram Hansra (June 2020). Thomas Lawley continues in the executive role as secretary while Tony Aruleba takes on the role of treasurer.

For more information contact media.wbcf@gmail.com.

The WBCF is a registered Canadian charity. Our mission is to enhance the quality of life in our region through grants and partnerships that improve the capacity and sustainability of our community.